How to set app options with CyberGhost for iOS

[App menu]     [Login]     [Upgrade]     [Settings]     [Wi-Fi settings]

App menu

A single finger tap on the bar symbol opens the app menu with the following options:

  • Account data (user name): Shows the current active account.
  • Logout/Use Different Account (only Premium Plus): Here you logout from the current active account, resp. login to a different account.
  • Manage Account (only Premium Plus): Loads the online account management page into your default browser.
  • Recover purchases (regular subscribers): Activates a subscription recreation procedure in case you are accidentally logged out from your account and can't log-in again, handled by Apple.
  • Settings: Opens the app settings.
  • Help: Loads the online help start page into your default browser.
  • My Achievements: Shows your progress and your experience level regarding online privacy and security with CyberGhost.
  • Your Feedback: Tell us your opinion about this app! Every kind of feedback helps to improve it and we are eager to hear your thoughts!
  • Share on Facebook: Recommend CyberGhost to your friends on Facebook.
  • Share on Twitter: Recommend CyberGhost to your followers on Twitter.
  • Upgrade: Purchase a CyberGhost subscription to fully enjoy all CyberGhost features after your trial period expires.

[App menu]     [Login]     [Upgrade]     [Settings]     [Wi-Fi settings]

Login

To benefit from all the features and profiles, after the 7 days trial period, users must upgrade by purchasing the app from the official App Store or by acquiring a Premium Plus license from the CyberGhost website.

In app purchase

If purchased from the App Store, an account will be created and users will be automatically logged in. The only account management option is
Recover Purchases handled by Apple. A 'Change Account' option is available only for users that have a Premium Plus subscription.

Premium Plus subscription

Users can also use the app and log in if they either (already) have a Premium Plus subscription, available for purchase on the CyberGhost website. In this way, they get access to the CyberGhost online account management, where they can manage up to 5 devices, see statistics, configure new devices and feature preferences, change passwords, and generate configuration data for native protocols.

If you already reached the maximum of allowed devices, you need to deactivate at least one of the activated devices in order to use another one. The deactivation takes place in your account management

Note: If you don't have a CyberGhost subscription, are logged out from your regular account, or if your test period is expired, CyberGhost offers a cost free basic plan. To login again to use an existing account, please tap on 'Use different account'. To create a new account and purchase a subscription, tap on 'Upgrade now'.

[App menu]     [Login]     [Upgrade]     [Settings]     [Wi-Fi settings]

Upgrade

After tapping on 'Upgrade' (either inside the app menu or directly on the app screen) you will be redirected to choose your subscription and payment period. The purchasing process is completely automatic and after paying your subscription the basic plan will be exchanged immediately with the respective subscription.

While purchasing, randomly generated credentials will be created and displayed in your purchase confirmation as well as be sent to you in an email, so you can use your CyberGhost account also with different devices or after a logout. Furthermore you receive a PUK for account recreations in case you lost your credentials for what reason ever.

Please store your credentials safely. If you lose your user name as well as your password and your PUK, your account can hardly be recreated. If you also lose your purchase reference number and the email address used for purchasing, not even our support can recreate an account.

[App menu]     [Login]     [Upgrade]     [Settings]     [Wi-Fi settings]

Settings

The app settings contain information about your plan and account as well as some display options:

  • User name: Your account name.
  • Plan: Your type of subscription.
  • Expires at: The date your current subscription runs out.
  • Active devices: Amount of active devices. Depending on your subscription you can use your plan with different amounts of devices at the same time.
  • Open account management: Opens your online account management in your default browser. Among others, you can deactivate devices there, have a look at your account data, change credentials, contact support, and create configurations for native protocols.
  • Show intro again: Activates the intro again, presenting the CyberGhost app.
  • Reset settings: Resets all options here. This settings doesn't influence options set for the ad blocker or other profile related additional CyberGhost functions.
  • Show Achievements: Shows your progress and your experience level regarding online privacy and security with CyberGhost.

[App menu]     [Login]     [Upgrade]     [Settings]     [Wi-Fi settings]

Wi-Fi Settings

The Wi-Fi settings can be set separately for password protected Wi-Fi networks and Free Access Wi-Fi networks:

Password protected Wi-Fi

To define the way new password protected networks should be treated, tap on 'Default behavior for new Wi-Fi networks > Password protected Wi-Fi' and choose one of the following actions:

  • Always ask for protection: Every time your phone tries to connect to that particular Wi-Fi, CyberGhost asks you if you want to be protected. By tapping the push notification, a secure connection is established.
  • Always protect automatically: Every time your phone connects to that Wi-Fi, CyberGhost automatically starts a VPN connection.
  • Disable protection: If you already have a VPN connection on and you reach a Wi-Fi with this option enabled, CyberGhost will disable the VPN
    connection.
  • Ignore: By choosing this option, CyberGhost will ignore new connections made on this Wi-Fi.

Free access Wi-Fi

For networks that don’t require a password, users can decide behavior by tapping on 'Default behavior for new Wi-Fi networks > Free access Wi-Fi' and then choosing from:

  • Always ask for protection: Every time your phone tries to connect to that particular Wi-Fi, CyberGhost asks you if you want to be protected. By tapping the push notification, a secure connection is established.
  • Always protect automatically: Every time your phone connects to that Wi-Fi, CyberGhost automatically starts a VPN connection.
  • Disable protection: If you already have a VPN connection on and you reach a Wi-Fi with this option enabled, CyberGhost will disable the VPN
    connection.
  • Ignore: By choosing this option, CyberGhost will ignore new connections made on this Wi-Fi.

[App menu]     [Login]     [Upgrade]     [Settings]     [Wi-Fi settings]

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 Comments
Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk