Windows Registry: How to set back the client to default values

To set back the client settings to default you need to delete the Registry key called

HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-[location]\Software\CyberGhost

where '[location]' refers to the path of the Windows account you use the client with.

Caution: Working on the registry can be a risk, if you don't know how to handle it. A single key deleted by accident can stop your system from booting or leave it unstable. Never work on your registry without making a backup before!

To do this, proceed as follows:

  • Open 'regedit' as administrator:
    • Windows 8/10: Open a command line (as administrator) and type in 'regedit'
    • Windows 7: Clicking on your start menu, type 'regedit.exe' in the search field and right click on the found entry. From the context menu you choose 'Run as administrator'.
  • Search for the key mentioned above (HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-[location]\Software\CyberGhost)
  • Delete this key - but only this one

Now you need to enter your account data again, set up the client (if done before) and re-organize your server filter (if done before).

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 Comments
Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk