How to avoid anonymity leaks

In some cases your anonymity may fail because of reasons CyberGhost VPN is not responsible for:

  • A website recognizes an IP: Some sites link cookies or server-side sessions to the requested IP, so if you change the server/IP, the cookie or the server-session is invalid. This can usually be solved by logging into the same website again.
  • Your browser exposes your country ID: Some websites check their visitor's browser country ID. If it differs from the IP address, you will get blocked. CyberGhost works constantly on its internal filters, which get activated by the tracking blocker and which hide browser attributes. Sometimes it's necessary to adapt servers for this goal, but that might take some time. So, please be patient, if a once successful connection doesn't work all of sudden, because its provider uses different measure to identify users. Leave a note with support and wait, until CyberGhost corrects things.
  • WebRTC leak: Some websites make usage of the so called WebRTC leak to uncover a user's original IP address. Read here how to circumvent that problem.
  • Some services expose your real IP: Some Internet services you are using (such as Dropbox, Skydrive, etc.) expose your real IP, if they had been started before connecting to CyberGhost. To make sure your identity will not be handed over, you should deactivate those services - just as you shouldn't log-in to the same mail provider and your Facebook or Google account, before starting CyberGhost. Besides: Using CyberGhost and logging into your Facebook or any other social network account is a very pointless thing to do, if you don't have anonymous accounts.
  • IPv6 is activated: CyberGhost is not yet IPv6 compatible, but some providers already use this feature. To avoid having a country ID exposed by IPv6 please deactivate this feature for your operating system.

The CyberGhost VPN does not influence your surfing behavior. Anonymity exists or not according to the data you voluntarily communicate or agree to be stored. Web pages, such as Amazon for example, leave cookies on your computer containing information on the items viewed, as well as on those you've purchased or wish to purchase. This information is automatically deleted only if you make the adequate settings for those programs.

Browser and system info

Characteristics like your browser and system language can be used by website owners to identify your country ID. You can hide those attributes by using the anti-tracking option in your profile's connection settings (here in your CyberGhost Windows client):

 

Note: Some providers lurk directly into your browser to find out details about the software and your Operating System. The Privacy Control concentrates on preventing informations being stored in a server's log files, but has no capabilities to block a behavior like that. Here you further need an add-on like NoScript or JonDoFox.

Cookies/Cache

Browser cookies might also contain your original country ID as well as websites being stored in your browser's cache. Please use a tool like CCleaner* or PrivaZer* and delete those files, before you start your browser (even some geo-location services, who check on your location, use that cache data and show your real IP then, instead of the simulated one).

Browser location services

Modern browsers support geo-location based on the W3C Geolocation API, which uses different geographical location information like your IP address, a WLAN, a Bluetooth MAC address, RFID and/or IDs of GPS and mobile phones. It's recommended to deactivate this 'service' in your browser's settings. More info will be provided by Wikipedia.  

Server labeled wrong by geo-location service

Some geo-location services don't update their databases on a regular base, so a server might be located in a wrong country, e.g. a Czech server will be shown as located in Germany or elsewhere. Please try a different server or, better, use a tracert command to get reliable results. See also How to create a tracert.


* Please make sure, your program's backup settings are activated, so you can slip safely back to a proven system state (in case something went wrong). In general one should always know, how these tools work and how one can undo unwanted results. 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 Comments
Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk